Random

My time to shine

Trying this out (late) today. Blogging is about writing. Blogging is about creating content. Hopefully, some meaningful content. Here it goes.

The “Daily Prompt” asked whether you are an early bird or a night owl.

Since it is 2 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time, it’s safe to say that I’m a night owl. For whatever reason, I’ve always been more of a night owl. I like to stay up late to get a sense of solitude. (You would think I get enough of that during the day.)

Being a night owl has its perks:

It’s quieter, so you don’t have the same amount of distractions you do during the late evening versus early mornings and afternoon. It is quiet outside my window. I only hear some birds chirping and the occasional car passing by. During the day, I hear constant air traffic from Bob Hope Airport or lawn mowers, sometimes leaf blowers, and often screaming children and an overwhelmed parent.

Believe it or not, music sounds better at night too. I can’t quite explain it, but listening to music at night is much more relaxing and intense. You hear more of it. You sense more of it. If you don’t believe me, listen to the album, “The Low End Theory” by A Tribe Called Quest.

I also enjoy going out to meet friends at night more than during the day. Your outings feel more important at night – almost as though it is more likely to be a memorable night and have more significance the next day when you talk about it. The term “last night,” connotes certain feelings that carry more nostalgia. It just isn’t the same as “earlier today.”

I like working on things at night too. It feels like there is more pressure working on something late in the day. It’s on you to get it done since the early birds are likely wrapping up their day, preparing for the next day. I also like the idea of working on something, say a news post, and scheduling it at 1:30 a.m. to appear at 9 a.m. It’s like you’re around at all hours of the day. You’re always tying loose ends or trying to give the impression that you really are around 24 hours a day.

However, since many more people are on the early bird schedule, I eventually get sucked into the early bird schedule. It’s difficult to go to bed at 3 a.m. and wake up at 5:30 a.m. to get to work. I don’t know how I do it. I don’t know why I do it, but I do.

Standard

Leave a Reply

